Google Ads for restoration companies might solve your problems in getting new leads and customers. In this article, you will learn why Google Ads is an awesome advertising tool and how to create one for your restoration services step by step.
Google Ads For Restoration Companies
What is Google Ads?
If you are reading this article, then you are probably looking for ways to step up the marketing strategy of your water damage restoration business — in this case using Google Ads.
Google Ads is a way for businesses to advertise digitally. It is an online platform where you can create advertisements and be seen by your potential clients. It runs by a pay-per-click system which means that you will only pay once someone clicks on your ad. You can also get data from your ad campaigns and use them to further improve your strategies.
Still not convinced? Check out this list on what benefits you can get when you advertise online using Google Ads.
Will Google Ads work for my water damage restoration services?
Over the past 5 years, the demand for restoration services is continuously increasing, and its industry revenue already reached 4$ billion as of 2021. This is also relevant to the climate changes that we continue to experience every day. Wildfire, hurricanes, floods, and other related home damages are always unexpected and the need for these services are just always there.
This only means that there is a huge market for these services and you need to step up your marketing strategies to get in front of your potential clients. Most of your competitors are probably already using Google Ads for restoration companies just like this one:
See how they did it? They created ads and ranked on the first page of Google search results. Most of them hire professionals and PPC experts to build effective ads for them so they can just focus on the business part of their company.
Want to start Google Ads for restoration but don’t know how?
Create a Google Ads account
Are you now convinced? Let’s start creating your Google Ads account! Go to the Google Ads site and sign-up using your existing Gmail/Google account.
Next step is to click ‘Switch to Expert Mode’. This will prevent Google from controlling all the aspects of your advertisement. As much as possible, you want to personally decide on every piece of information that will be included in your ad campaign.
General Settings For Campaign Creation
Choose campaign goal and type
You will be asked to select the goal for your campaign, but we recommend choosing a campaign without a goal’s guidance. This technique will prevent Google from limiting your campaign options if you decide to make changes soon.
The next step is to choose your campaign type. Each campaign type has its own purpose and it depends on the industry of your business. If you are an e-commerce company, then choose ‘Shopping’ campaign, or if you to promote an app, then choose the app campaign type.
But for this industry, people typically go to Google.com and search for water damage restoration services. That is why we recommend choosing ‘Search’ campaign.
Once you’re set, type in your website and your phone number.
Input campaign name and unselect networks
Label your campaign and make sure to unselect both search and display networks. Including networks will show your ads to Google partner sites like Youtube, and other non-Google sites. People do not look on Youtube to hire these types of services, it can influence them but most of the time it doesn’t work at all.
Targeting and location settings
Next step is to input the area that your restoration company is serving. Take note of which zip codes your customers are coming from because you can target postal codes instead of just using cities. You can put as many zip codes as you can for your targeting.
For the location options, make sure to select ‘Presence: Presence in or regularly in your targeted locations’. This will prevent your ads from showing to people who are far from your target location which can result in unnecessary clicks and costs on your Google Ads.
Choose one language
Your restoration business might be serving multilingual customers and you are tempted to choose all languages possible for this. But the thing is, Google does not translate your ads for different languages.
And if you really want to target other clients who speak other languages, then we suggest creating a separate ad campaign for that. This would make managing your campaigns easier and less complicated.
Budget and bidding for starters
Now you can’t make your ads run if you don’t have the budget for it. We suggest choosing a budget that you are comfortable spending per month. Your budget will be set daily, but the payment is every month.
Next is to choose ‘clicks’ for this campaign. Remember that you will only be charged once someone clicks on your ad, and the cost per click (CPC) can be automatically decided by Google, or you can set it manually.
So if you have $80/day as your budget, and your CPC is $2, then you can have up to 40 clicks per day. You can set it lower for more clicks but it might affect the ranking of your ad on the Google search result page.
If your ad did not get 40 clicks in a day, the excess budget will be used for the next day. Want to know more about biddings? Check this article about Google Ads keyword bidding strategy.
Use ad extensions
Include ad extensions on your ad campaign. This gives additional information and significantly increases the size of your overall advertisement. The larger the size of your ad, the more chances it being noticed by your potential restoration client.
Here is what each extension will look like when added on a Google Ads for restoration example:
Google will not show all extensions at the same time so make sure to only use extensions that are really important for your ad campaign.
Ad group creation
Once you finished with general campaign settings, you will move forward to setting up ad groups. So what exactly is an ad group and how is it important?
An ad group contains a set of keywords and ad texts that corresponds to a specific theme or group topic. For example, you offer 3 services in your restoration company:
- Fire damage
- Mold damage
- Water damage
Creating specific ad groups for each service will show specific ads and will be triggered by specific keywords that people are searching for. This prevents you from showing a general company ad when they are looking for a specific service.
We suggest using spreadsheets when you create your ad groups to make your planning more organized.
Now that you know the basics of ad groups, let’s create one for ‘water damage’ services.
Ad group type, name, and keywords
Make sure that your ad group type is standard and input the ad group name. For this, we will focus on the water damage restoration services of this sample company.
As stated a while ago, you need keywords that relate to the topic of the ad group since this is the only way to make your ad show up on the Google search page results (besides having the budget for it, obviously).
Type in your website URL and input the keywords that are related to ‘water damage restoration’. Then, click ‘Get keywords’.
This should give you a list of keywords that are related to the services you typed in. Remove the ones that are irrelevant and put all accepted keywords in your spreadsheet.
Notice the note below this result? It hints that using match types will help control which search queries can trigger your ads. We also used notations on our spreadsheet if you noticed.
What are match types?
Match types are notations you use to further control how you want your ads to be matched on specific search queries.
- Broad match – no notation, can match to anything connected to the keyword assigned
- water damage restoration can match to flood casualty cleanup
- Phrase match – uses quotations marks as notation, will match only if the search query has the keywords assigned
- “water damage restoration” can match to fire and “water damage restoration” meaning
- Exact match – uses brackets as notation, will only match to search queries that are exactly the keywords assigned
- [water damage restoration] will only match to water damage restoration
Using match types is important to prevent your ad campaign from getting unnecessary clicks and costs. Now that you are familiarized with match types, you can now complete the list of your keywords. But before that, research is important to maximize your ad campaign.
Keyword research techniques for restoration companies
Keyword research is important to make sure that your ad will only show up to relevant keywords, and this way, you will also have an insight on what keywords are people using when they search for your restoration services.
Google Autocomplete Suggestion
You can easily find some keyword ideas when you type in the search box of Google. This is because Google will give you some keywords that are relevant to your search query, and those suggestions are what people are also searching for. Just take note of the keywords that are irrelevant because you can use that info later.
Keyword Planner for
You don’t need to look far because Google Ads also have their own keyword research tool. Just go to ‘Tools & Settings’ and click ‘Keyword Planner’ under the ‘Planning’ category. Then choose ‘Discover new keywords’.
Then, you need to input your services and the main keywords that you want to research. Select your target location, and input your website URL. After that, click ‘Get results’.
You should get results like this one:
It gives you keyword ideas that you can add to your list, how many people search for that keyword, the competitiveness, and the average CPC bid of the ads that are placed on the top of the page. You can use the CPC data and use this as the basis of your campaign’s CPC bid.
Again, take note of the irrelevant keywords as you will use that information later.
Want in-depth keyword research for your restoration services?
Use free keyword research tool
There are lots of free keyword research tools that you can use for your ad campaign. Just search on google ” free keyword research tool” and it will give you lots of apps and tools that you can use for free (or at least a free trial).
Finalizing your keywords
Now that you have researched a lot of keywords and you are now contented with your list, you can now copy it from the spreadsheet and paste it under the ad group keywords.
That’s one ad group, and if you want to create more just click the plus button or the ‘New Ad Group’. Once you are done creating all the ad groups you need, click ‘Save And Continue’.
Negative Keywords for Google Ads for restoration companies
Remember how I reminded you to keep notes of irrelevant keywords that you have seen while researching? This is because you can block those keywords to prevent them from triggering your ads. These keywords are irrelevant and most likely have no intention to hire your services.
Take this Google Autocomplete suggestions as an example:
Those boxed searches probably don’t have an intention to hire your water damage restoration services. So we recommend blocking them to prevent unnecessary clicks and costs. You can do this by adding them to the negative keywords list which can be found on the ‘Tools & Settings’, under ‘Shared Library’ category.
Don’t forget to use match types as it also controls how negative keywords will be blocked. Once you are done, click ‘Save’.
Writing headlines and descriptions
After creating your ad groups, you can now write ad copies for your water damage restoration ad group.
URL and display path
Now, you need to input the final URL of this ad, or the page that the viewer will be redirected to once they click on your ad. We highly recommend using your website’s service page for this to make it more efficient. Redirecting them to a home page will confuse them as they still need to find what they are looking for on the page.
After that, put your main keywords on the display path. This won’t affect the final URL but it adds extra text/information to your ads.
Headlines are one of the most important parts of the ad campaign. This is the first thing they will see once they look at your ad. It needs to be eye-catching and interesting so they would click on it. So how do write headlines?
Google will give you 3 headlines to put on your ad. And here, you can put up to 15 headlines, and Google will create combinations of 3 headlines.
There are certain headlines that will look better when placed in a specific placement. To fix headline placements, you can use the pin option on the right side of the character limit.
Google will give you headline ideas, but if you don’t have in mind, here are some of our tips in creating an awesome headline:
- Use text symbols and number
- 24 Hour Emergency Service
- Professional & Fast Response
- Starts @ 799
- #1 Water Damage Restoration
- %100 Guaranteed
- Include locations
- Water Damage Restoration LA
- Water Damage Cleanup Near Me
- Water Damage Cleanup Near You
- Water Damage Restoration Irvine
- Water Damage Restoration New York
- Add price rates and discounts
- Only $499
- 10% Off On Your First Purchase
- Add call to actions (CTAs)
- Call Now
- Schedule Today
- Book An Appointment
- Call Us Today
These techniques will certainly work, just try to combine things and make it interesting. Just keep in mind to only put what you offer, because including discounts when you don’t even have one is just false advertising.
Now for the descriptions, Google will also give you ideas on what to put here. We suggest applying the same technique we discuss with headlines, but this time you can follow this formula that we think will add value to your descriptions
- Who We Are + Testimonial
- Who We Are + Services + Features
- Features + Features + Features
- Reflective Question + CTA
‘Who We Are’ should explain what company are you, your experiences, what makes you unique and better than others. And then ‘Testimonials’ from your past customers. ‘Features’ are just unique offers from your company that you want to promote. While ‘Reflective Questions’ are just texts that can appeal to their problem.
Again, you can fix the placement of your descriptions by clicking on the pin icon.
Finalizing your ad
Once you create your headlines and descriptions, Google will give you an idea of how strong your ad is in terms of the overall content. You don’t have to follow it but it is a nice insight for your ad.
Then, check the preview of your ad which is just beside your headline and description segment. Google will show you combinations of your ads and you can see its mobile and desktop view on the upper right corner.
Now that you’re done with everything, click ‘Save and Continue’. Google will review your overall ad campaign and it will show you issues that need to be fixed.
Take note that if the text is red, then it is required to be fixed and you can’t publish it until is corrected. If the text is black, then it is just optional and you can ignore and just publish it.
Problems with getting new clients and leads?
Start getting new clients with Google Ads for restoration companies
Now that you know how to create Google Ads for your restoration services, you can now start getting leads and new clients for your company. There are still lots of new techniques that Google Ad managers will come up with, but one thing for sure is that Google Ads for restoration companies is an awesome way to advertise your restoration services.
With Google Ads for restoration companies, you will get insights that will let you understand how your potential clients behave and how they decide on things. If you want in-depth Google Ads management for your restoration services, you can schedule a free consultation with our PPC experts.